The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Milestone dates in Nigeria’s telecoms sector


• 1999: Publication of the initial Nigerian Policy on Telecommunications
• 2000: Inauguration of telecoms sector reform implementation committee& issuance of finalized telecoms Policy
• 2000: Appointment of New Executive Management & Board for the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC)
• 2001: Successful completion of Digital Mobile License (DML) & spectrum licensing process – initial issuance of 3 Licenses to CIL, Econet Wireless & MTN
• 2003: Enactment of the Nigerian Communications Act (repealing the 1992 Act, reforming the NCC & establishing the NFMC and USPF)
• 2006: Successful completion of Unified Access Service & 3G spectrum licensing process- initial issuance of 4 Licenses to Alheri, MTN , Celtel & Glo
• 2007: Issuance of 3G spectrum & launch of high-speed data services
• 2010: NCC issues infrastructure sharing & collocation service licences
• 2013: Issuance of National Broadband Plan by the NCC
• 2015: NCC announces issuance of 6 infraco licenses for provision of metro fibre and transmission services
• 2015: Commencement of issuance of VAS (content) provision licences by the NCC
• 2016: First commercial deployments of 4G/LTE services
• 2019: Field trial of 5G


In this article:
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet