The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Designers Guild holds convention, inaugurates BoT, patrons


Iyen Agbonifo Obaseki

Creative Designers Guild of Nigeria (CDGN), comprising of set designers, makeup artists and costumiers recently held its yearly convention, where it inaugurated a new Board of Trustees, patrons and elected a new president. The guild, considered to be the most stable of all the guilds in Nollywood, had a gathering of industry giants at the event.

In her address, the outgoing president, Iyen Agbonifo-Obaseki, first female in Nollywood to be elected president of any guild in Nigeria’s motion picture industry, was glad to be handing over the mantle to another member as president after a 15-year tenure. Agbonifo-Obaseki said she faced the herculean task of building the guild from scratch, but remained undaunted as “I had an assemblage of willing and passionate executives and members, who believed and shared my dream of a virile association of creative minds.”

Due to her efforts and foresight, the association has presence in 15 states of the federation, and is vigorously pursuing an expansionist agenda.

In her long tenure, Agbonifo-Obaseki said she did not lose sight of the need for capacity building, as her efforts led to several trainings and workshops for CDGN members, both within and outside the country. These trainings, according to Agbonifo-Obaseki, “Gave our members an enamoured feeling and confidence to be able to deliver on innovative, inspiring, and creative designs during productions.”

She did not forget to appreciate her family for supporting her to succeed, saying, “There were times I had to travel suddenly, when duty called and there will be no money. At times like that, I would call them and they would raise the needed funds for me to undertake the journey. They, by extension, were part of the guild because of the way they were highly involved for my sake.”

The trustees were carefully selected based on their contributions to the arts, motion picture industry and the guild in the past. They are Esama of Benin Kingdom, Chief Gabriel Osawaru Igbinedion, who will serve as Grand Patron while Ateke Michael Tom, Chief Elkanah Oghenovo Mowarin, GMD Brickwall Group of Companies, Mr. Uche Ahubelem, Hon. Kalajaiye Adeboye and Patience Ozokwor.

The Esama, who was represented by his son, Mr. Fred Igbinedion, was proud to be associated with creative minds, adding, “Anywhere you go in the world today, Nollywood has made the country popular and we are proud of you” and pledged his continuous support for the guild to see it become bigger. The Board of Trustees, chaired by Steve Obigbesan, has Mahmoud Ali-Balogun, Olori Peju Sonuga, Alhaji Sheilk Malam Maccido, Iyen Agbonoifo-Obaseki, Prof. Edmund Ugwu Agbo and Executive Secretary, Nigerian Institute for Cultural Orientation, Dr. Barclays Ayakoroma as members.

The new president elect is sele O. Sele Who promised to tow the path of his predecessor

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet