Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Maltina begins search for Teacher of the Year


President, All Nigeria Confederation of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPSS), Anselm Izuagie (left); Director, Basic & Secondary Education, Federal Ministry of Education, Dr. Lami Amodu; Corporate Affairs Director, Nigerian Breweries Plc., Mrs. Sade Morgan; Secretary General, Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), Dr. Mike Ene and the Lagos State Coordinator, Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria, Mrs. Grace Adewumi during the Flag Off Ceremony of the 2019 Maltina Teacher of the Year in Lagos recently.

Nigerian Breweries (NB) Plc, on May 16, began this year’s search for Maltina Teacher of the Year winner.

Making the announcement in Lagos was the company’s Corporate Affairs Director, Mrs. Sade Morgan, who said the programme was one of the initiatives through which the company contributes to the development of education in Nigeria in line with its corporate philosophy of ‘Winning with Nigeria’.

Morgan explained that Maltina Teacher of the Year is an offshoot of the Nigerian Breweries-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund. The trust fund, which was established by Nigerian Breweries in 1994 to facilitate its active contribution to the development of the education sector in Nigeria, is in line with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) No.4.

She noted that the 2019 edition of the initiative is symbolic, because not only is this the fifth edition, but also because the company has added a new twist to the project with the introduction of the consumer engagement online contest tagged ‘That one teacher’.


“Through this initiative we have been able to rewrite history by changing the age long narrative that the reward of teachers is in heaven by ensuring that they receive deserved recognition while still in active service,” she said.

Interested participants are advised to download application forms from the Maltina website – or pick up a form at their States Ministry of Education, Nigerian Union of Teachers office nationwide as entries would close July 12, 2019. Applicants are to complete their forms and upload to the website or send by email to

Announcing the prizes for the 2019 Maltina Teacher of the Year, Morgan disclosed that the winner will receive a total cash prize of N6.5 million and a capacity training abroad while a block of classrooms will be built at the school where he or she teaches.

She added that the first runner-up and the second runner-up for the competition will get a cash prize of N1m and N750, 000 cash prize respectively while state champion, will receive a cash reward of N500, 000 each.

Also speaking at the Flag Off ceremony, the Director, Basic & Secondary Education, Federal Ministry of Education, Dr. Lami Amodu disclosed that the Federal Government acknowledges the role of Nigerian Breweries Plc. in celebrating the impact and contributions of teachers through this initiative, noting that this would serve as an encouragement for them to aspire to greater height.

On his part, the Secretary General, Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), Dr. Mike Ene, commended NB Plc for bringing teachers all across the country to limelight. He further pledged the support of the union and charged teachers nationwide to participate and ensure they enter for this commendable initiative.

In his remarks, the President, All Nigeria Confederation of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPSS), Principal Anselm Izuagie, expressed appreciation to the management of the company for creating a platform that not only celebrates teachers but also provides reward for their efforts. “We are happy that Nigerian Breweries Plc has transformed the lives of several teachers with this initiative over the past five years,” he said.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet