The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp
Everything you need to live well

“Anybody” and “Dumebi” Make Pitchfork’s 100 Best Songs For 2019

2019 seems to be ending well for Burna Boy and Rema as their songs make Pitchfork’s 100 best songs alongside DJ Nate: “Fuck Dat” songs like Shawn Mendes: If I can’t Have You, Ciara: “Thinkin Bout You”, and Young Thug: “What’s the Move” [ft. Lil Uzi Vert] to mention a few.


Rema comes as number 72 on the list. Alphonse Pierre says this about the song: “Dumebi” feels both traditional and new. The Ozedikus-produced rhythm is bouncy and fresh,”. Dumebi was also part of Barrack Obama’s selected playlist.

Generally, it has been a great year for Burna Boy, from being a Grammy-nominated artiste to his African Giant album being one of Billboard’s top 50 best Album of 2019. For Pitchfork, he is number 48 on the list.

Other artistes on the list include:

Brittany Howard, Clairo, black midi, Oso Oso, Maxo Kream, Lil Tecca, Sleater-Kinney, Caribou, Koffee, Charly Bliss, Polo G, Jessica Pratt, 100 gecs, Mount Eerie, CHAI, Burna Boy, HAIM, Stormzy, Lizzo, Jenny Lewis, Jamila Woods, Caroline Polachek, Perfume Genius, Denzel Curry, Pop Smoke, Nilufer Yanya, Bill Callahan, Bruce Springsteen, Four Tet, Deerhunter, The 1975, Mark Ronson + Angel Olsen, Aldous Harding, Big Thief, Vampire Weekend, Rico Nasty, Cate Le Bon, Weyes Blood, Bon Iver, Danny Brown, Jenny Hval, Angel Olsen, Lana Del Rey, FKA twigs, (Sandy) Alex G, DaBaby, Megan Thee Stallion, Solange, Billie Eilish, Thom Yorke, Sharon Van Etten, Bad Bunny, Purple Mountains, Mannequin Pussy, Normani, “Old Town Road,” and more.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421