Sunday, 4th June 2023

Headies 2019, And The Winner Is…

By Chuks Nwanne
19 October 2019   |   4:25 am
The Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos, will come alive today, as music stars, celebrities and stakeholders in the country’s showbiz industry will storm the venue today for the 2019 The Headies.

The Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos, will come alive today, as music stars, celebrities and stakeholders in the country’s showbiz industry will storm the venue today for the 2019 The Headies. Now in it’s 13 edition, the glamorous urban music award ceremony will open with a special red carpet reception that will surely see different shades of styles and fashion.

This year, ace rapper, Remilekun Khalid Shafaru, popularly known as Reminisce, will be pairing with TV presenter and actress, Nancy Isime as the official hosts of the music awards. Meanwhile, attendees are in for an intriguing trip of undiluted entertainment in an action packed night.

Born on January 26 in Kaduna State, Reminisce is a Nigerian singer, rapper, and songwriter from Ajilete, Yewa South LGA in Ogun State. The graduate of Purchasing And Supply from the Kwara State Polytechnic delivers his rap line in both English and Yoruba. He has released four studio albums, Book Of Rap Stories (2012) Alaga Ibile (2014) Baba Afusa (2015) and El-Hadji (2016). He has also garnered high profile features from top artistes across the country, including Olamide, Phyno, MI Abaga, Naeto C, 2Baba, Davido, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, 9ice and several others.

Reminisce has won 2 Headies Awards; Best Collabo (Local Rapper featuring Olamide and Phyno 2015) Best Rap Album (El-Hadji 2018).On her part, Edo State born Nancy is a model and media personality. In 2009, she won the Miss Valentine International beauty pageant, and began a career as an actress in the TV series Echoes in 2011. She has since appeared in several films. In 2016, she replaced Toke Makinwa as the presenter of Trending on HipTv and has since carved a niche for herself as a top TV girl in the country.

Meanwhile, The Headies opened its doors to receive entries for its 13th music awards with this year’s edition themed The Power of A Dream. According to the organisers, only musical works released between January 2018 and June 2019 were eligible for submission this year and stand a chance to be nominated for the annual award.

For Best Recording Of The Year, Adekunle Gold’s Ire will slug it out with Heal D World by Patoranking, Olanrewaju by Brymo, UyoMeyo by Teni and Ye by Burna Boy. Nominated for Best Pop Single are Ye – Burna Boy, Wetin We Gain – Victor AD, Fake Love – Starboy ft Duncan Mighty, Wizkid, Case – Teni, Jealous –Fireboy DML and Baby – Joeboy.

For Producer Of The Year, an individual responsible for producing the most acclaimed song or album in the year under review, Phantom – Ye by Burna Boy, Ozedikus – Dumebi by Rema, Spellz – Askamaya by Teni, Killertunes – Fake Love by Starboy ft Duncan Mighty and Wizkid and Kel-P Vibes – Killing Dem by Burna Boy ft. Zlatan.

Nominated for Best Rap Album are Moral Instruction – Falz, Crown – AQ and Loose Kaynon, A Study On Self Worth: YxngDxnzl – M.I Abaga and Clone Wars, Vol. IV (These Buhari Times) – Show Dem Camp. Nominated for Best R&B/Pop Album are Rare – Odunsi (The Engine), Outside – Burna Boy, No Bad Songz – Kizz Daniel, Mayor of Lagos – Mayorkun and About 30 – Adekunle Gold.

For Best Music Video, Dangote (BurnaBoy) shot by Clarence Peters will slug it out with Available (Patoranking) – Clarence Peters, Ire (Adekunle Gold) – Aje Films, Talk’ (Falz) – Prodigeezy and Jaiye (Ladipoe) – 88 Factor.Nominated for Best R&B Single are Tipsy – Odunsi ft. RAYE, Serenade – Funbi, UyoMeyo – Teni, Wishes and Butterflies – Wurld and Gimme Love – Seyi Shay ft. Runtown. While for Best Collabo, Like – Reekado Banks Ft. Tiwa Savage, Fiokee, One Ticket – Kiss Daniel ft. Davido, Fake Love – Starboy ft Duncan Mighty, Wizkid, Killin Dem – Burna Boy Ft. Zlatan and Amaka – 2baba Ft. Peruzzi will do battle.

Best Rap Single Nominees Include Talk – Falz, We Don’t Do That Over Here – Hotyce, 40ft Container – Illbliss ft. Olamide, Sacrifice – Payper Corleone Ft. Alpha Ojini and Gang Gang – AQ and Loose Kaynon. For Best Vocal Performance (Male) Tay Iwar – Utero, Johnny Drille – Finding Efe, Nonso Bassey – 411, Funbi – Serenade and Wurld – Wishes & Butterfly will slug it out, while in the female category, GoodGirl LA – Bless me, Waje – Udue, Teni – UyoMeyo, Tems – Mr Rebel and Falana – Repeat will do battle.

Meanwhile, nominated for Rema, Joeboy, Fireboy DML, Victor AD, Lyta and Zlatan, while Hip Hop World Revelation nominees are Odunsi, Mayorkun, Wurld and Humblesmith will slug it out.Lyricist On The Roll, a non-voting category for the rap artiste with the best lyrical depth and performance on a single song or album, has YCEE – Balance, Boogey – Implode, Paybac – Implode, Ghost– Crown, Tec– Crown and AQ – Crown. While Best Street-Hop Artiste nominees are Erigga – Motivation, ChinkoEkun – Able God, Zlatan – Leg Work, Barry Jhay – Aiye and Lyta– Time.

For Best Alternative Song, Cash – Lady Donli, Mr Rebel – Tems, Finding Efe – Johnny Drille, Heya –Brymo and Ire – Adekunle Gold are up for the award, while About 30 – Adekunle Gold, Outside – Burna Boy, Moral Instruction –Falz and No Bad Songz – Kizz Daniel are nominated for Album Of The Year.Nominated For Artiste Of The Year are Burna Boy, Wizkid, Davido, Tiwa Savage and Falz, while Song Of The Year nominees are Ye – Burna Boy, Dumebi – Rema, Wetin We Gain – Victor AD, Fake Love – Starboy ft Duncan Mighty, Wizkid, Case – Teni, Leg work- Zlatan, Baby – Joeboy and Jealous

– Fireboy DML.
For African Artiste Recognition, a non-Nigerian award category for an individual African artiste or group with the most outstanding achievement, impact and infiltration into the Nigerian music scene in the year under review, Master Kg – Skeleton Moves (South Africa), Afro B – Drogba (Joanna) (Ivory Coast), Sauti Sol – Melanin (Kenya), King Promise – Cctv (Ghana) And Dj Maphoriza – Iwalk Ye Phara (South Africa) are up for nomination.

For Headies’ Viewer’s Choice award, MrEazi, Burna Boy, Teni, Fireboy DML, Rema, Joe Boy, Wizkid and Davido will slug it out, while for Best Performer, Falz, Tiwa Savage, Brymo, Yemi Alade, and Adekunle Gold will do battle.Nominated for Rookie Of The Year, a voting category for the rookie of the year who has had a successful year musically, with the absence of an album in the year under review, are Crayon, Buju, Barry Jhay and Oxlade will slug it out, while Special Recognition award will be presented to Paul Okoye of Upfront & Personal for his contribution to the entertainment industry.

In this article