Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp
Everything you need to live well

Wizkid Releases Surprise EP “Soundman Vol. 1”


Wizkid | Photo Kwaku Alston

Thank God it’s Friday but this Friday is a FriYAY because Nigerian music sensation, Wizkid just made it so!

Starboy as he is fondly called took to Twitter in the early hours of today to announce the release of his extended play (EP), soundman. This announcement came as a shock to everyone as there was no news prior to this release.


The surprise EP was released at 6:00 A.M. with Wizkid dropping different download links to various streaming platforms where songs on the project can be listened to.

The 7-song extended playlist consists of songs titled: ‘Ease your mind’, ‘Thankful’, ‘Electric,’ ‘Mine,’ ‘Cover Me,’ ‘Blow,’ and ‘Jam.’

Chronixx, Blaq Jerzee, DJ Tunez, and Kel P were featured in the EP.

He further announced that Volume 2 will be out soon: “Vol 2. soon touch before MIL.” MIL is an acronym for Made in Lagos, his upcoming album.

October 1st, Wizkid dropped his single “Joro” and some days after, he released another single, “Ghetto love.”

Wizkid rose to prominence after releasing “Holla at Your Boy” the lead single from his debut studio album Superstar (2011). “Tease Me/Bad Guys”, “Don’t Dull”, “Love My Baby”, “Pakurumo” and “Oluwa Lo Ni” were also released as singles from the Superstar album.

In February 2014, Wizkid became the first-ever Nigerian musician to have over 1 million followers on Twitter.

Ayo, his self-titled second studio album, was released in September 2014. It was supported by six singles: “Jaiye Jaiye”, “On Top Your Matter”, “One Question”, “Joy”, “Bombay” and “Show You the Money”. Wizkid left E.M.E after his contract expired.

You can click here to listen to the EP.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421