Sunday, 3rd July 2022
Breaking News:

Adamawa PDP defeats APC senators as SGF, Bindow lose

By Lawrence Njoku (Enugu), Adeyemi Adepetun, Kehinde Olatunji, Victor Gbonegun (Lagos), Emmanuel Ande (Yola), Charles Akpeji (Jalingo) and John Akubo (Lokoja)
26 February 2019   |   4:16 am
The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won the Adamawa North and senatorial districts hitherto occupied by All Progressives Congress (APC) lawmakers.

[FILE PHOTO] Governor Muhammadu Umaru Jibrilla Bindow of Adamawa State

Opposition wins in Enugu, Lagos LGs, Melaye returns to Senate
The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won the Adamawa North and senatorial districts hitherto occupied by All Progressives Congress (APC) lawmakers.

Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustafa lost his local government to PDP, while Governor Mohammed Jibrilla Bindow lost his senatorial zone to the opposition.

The North Senatorial zone occupied by the only female senator from the North, Binta Masi, also lost to PDP’s candidate, Elisha Abbo.

In Adamawa South Senatorial district, Deputy Governor Martins Babale and Senator Abubakar Mo’Allayidi, lost to PDP candidate, Binos Yerio.

In Adamawa Central Senatorial district occupied by African Democratic Congress (ADC) gubernatorial candidate, Abdullaziz Nyako, Aisha Binani Modibbo, defeated Murtala Modibbo, younger brother to her husband.

In Enugu State, PDP candidates who participated in the National Assembly elections won their positions.

In Enugu East Senatorial district, former Governor Chimaroke Nnamani won, as he beat his closet rivals.

Returning Officer, Professor Aloysius Okorie polled 128, 843 votes to beat Lawrence Eze of APC and Uchenna Nwegbo, who scored 14, 225 and 1,586 votes, respectively.

Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu retained his seat as Returning Officer, Professor Douglas Nwabueze revealed that he (Ekwerenmadu) polled 86, 088 votes to beat Mrs. Juliet Ibekaku Nwangwu of the APC, who scored 15, 187 votes.

For Enugu North Senatorial district, Chukwuka Utazi scored 146, 458 votes to beat Eugene Odo of APC, who scored 22, 229 votes.

The PDP also garnered more votes in Surulere, Eti-Osa and Ojo local government areas of Lagos State than the APC in the keenly contested elections.

Surulere is the base of former Governor Babatunde Fashola and Femi Gbajabiamila, while Eti-Osa is the home of Senator Musiliu Obanikoro.

The PDP scored 31,603 votes, while APC had 30,621 in Surulere, just as it scored 25, 216 votes in Eti-Osa, compared to APC’s 20,962 votes.

Also at Ojo Local Government Area, PDP polled 29,019 votes, as against APC’s 24,333 votes.

In Kogi State, Senator Dino Melaye of the PDP was yesterday declared the winner as the Returning Officer, Professor Emmanuel Bala in Lokoja that Melaye polled 84, 797 votes to defeat Smart Adeyemi of the APC who scored 67, 471 votes.

Meanwhile, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) commenced the collation of results in Taraba State, with indication that the PDP’s presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar, was leading in six of the eight local governments so far collated.