The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Nigeria adds Austria, Sweden to countries on travel restriction


The Nigerian government on Friday added Austria and Sweden to the list of countries on its travel restriction to prevent the spread of coronavirus.

“The List of countries from which Nigeria is restricting entry for travellers has therefore now grown from 13 to 15: China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, United States of America, United Kingdom, Netherlands, Switzerland, Austria and Sweden,” the Nigerian government tweeted.

“Nigerians arriving from Austria and Sweden will be subjected to supervised isolation for 14 days.”


Nigeria’s cases of coronavirus rose to 12 on Thursday, March 19, 2020, after four new cases were confirmed by Lagos State health commissioner Akin Abayomi.

Nigeria had on Wednesday, placed a travel restriction on 13 countries with more than 1,000 cases of coronavirus.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation Boss Mustapha made the announcement at a media briefing on Wednesday.


Mustapha also announced that Nigeria has suspended its visa on arrival policy.

The government said its citizens are advised to avoid travel to the restricted countries.

“These travel and visa restrictions take effect from Friday 20 March 2020, for 4 weeks subject to review,” the government said.

In this article:
Coronavirus in Nigeria
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet