Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Nigeria signs pact on joint maritime patrol of ECOWAS Zone E


ECOWAS office

Nigeria has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Republic of Benin, Togo and Niger Republic for a joint patrol of the Maritime Zone ‘E’.

The Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas, signed the pact with heads of navies of countries that make up Zone E at the weekend.

It was during their meeting at the headquarters of Multinational Maritime Coordinating Centre, Cotonou, Benin Republic.

Spokesman of the navy, Cdr. A. O. Olugbode, noted: “The memorandum is to revisit, among others, the 2011 and 2012 Resolutions of the United Nations Security Council on the suppression of acts of piracy attacks against shipping and other illegalities at sea.”

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet