The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

NUC delays full operational licence for 11 private varsities


National Universities CommissionTHE National Universities Commission (NUC) has delayed full operational licence for 11 private universities due to their inability to meet up with accreditation requirements. The Executive Secretary of the Commission, Prof. Julius Okojie, who disclosed this yesterday in Abuja, said the commission has given the 11 universities extension of two years to enable them re-access their members of staff strength to student ratio and facilities in order to get full accreditation for all their programmes.

Okojie, who also presented full operational licence to Veritas University, Afe Babalola University, Nigeria Turkish Nile University and six other private universities, said the NUC does not only monitor the activities of universities in Nigeria but also inspect and penalise them through the accreditation process. He said: “Interim accreditation was given for three years, then we visited and inspected the university’s facilities, members of staff quality and distributions, especially in parameter structure, we also check the governance structure and requirements and the hectares of their land if its 100 hectares.’

“Precisely, accreditation is a monitoring process which enables the commission to keep academic programmes of a university in check and for necessary advice to be given if any challenge arises.” Responding on behalf of the nine universities given full operational licence, the Vice Chancellor of Caleb University, Prof. Ayodeji Olukoju, who said private university is a way forward for Nigeria, said: “Private university is presently contributing to national development.”

Registrar of Rhema University, Dr. Emmanuel Dough-Dough, urged the Federal Government to introduce the Education Bank to help both private and public universities draw single digit loan and to also help students access loan. Okojie, who said the Establishment Act of University Cap. E3 2004 encourages private sector in establishment of universities and this law empowers the NUC to find out if there would be sustenance of fund for the aspired institution, said: “The private universities can equally benefit from the government through its ACE programme.

We have about three universities currently drawing from this Fund from World Bank for research development. “We should also remember that the Federal Government equally provides adequate security.” Universities that received full licence include Caleb University, Salem University, Veritas University, Afe Babalola University, Godfrey Okoye University, Adeleke University, Western Delta University. Others with two years extension are Wesley University of Science, Landmark University, Rhema University, Samuel Adegboyega University, Paul University, Oduduwa University, Tansian University, Baze University, Oboing University, Achievers University and Wellspring University.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet