The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Okowa drops two commissioners, reassigns four others


Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State

Delta CJ inaugurates committee to monitor judiciary workers
Delta State Governor, Ifeanyi Okowa, yesterday dropped two commissioners and reassigned four others. This was disclosed by the Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Mr. Charles Aniagwu.

The two commissioners are Dr. Nicholas Azinge (Health) and Dan Okenyi (Culture & Tourism).

Those reassigned are Mr. Asupa Forteta, who was moved from the Directorate of Youths Development to that of Urban Renewal, and Karo Ilolo, formerly of the Directorate of Urban Renewal to the Directorate of Youths Development.

Others are Mr. Bright Edejewhro, who was reassigned from the Directorate of Local Government Affairs to the Ministry of Science and Technology, and Mr. Joyce Overah, from the Ministry of Science and Technology to Local Government Affairs.

Quoting a statement from the Secretary to the State Government, Mr. Festus Ovie Agas, the chief press secretary said the move was to re-energise the machinery of government.

Okowa thanked the two commissioners for their commitment and contributions to the government’s agenda and wish them success in their future endeavours.

A source at the Government House told The Guardian that the governor may sack more commissioners.

He said the situation has created tension among the cabinet members.

Okowa has also forwarded the name of Mr. Mordi Ononye to the state House of Assembly for consideration as commissioner.

Meanwhile, the state Chief Judge, Marshal Umukoro, has constituted a five-man committee to restore discipline among the judiciary workers.

The committee is headed by the Deputy Chief Registrar (Inspectorate), Mr. Clement Onyekwe.

Other members are the Deputy Director, Asaba High Court, Mr. Divine Agbeyi, Assistant Director of Court, Warri,  Mrs. Edhere .O. Victoria, Mrs Caroline Idollo of the High Court Effurun, and Assistant Chief Registrar, Ughelli High Court, Abirhire Blessing.

The inauguration was done yesterday in Asaba, at the end of an interactive meeting with the registrars of Asaba, Warri, Effurun and Ughelli high courts.

Justice Umukoro explained that the action followed the directive by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Walter Samuel Onnoghen that heads of court in the country must establish committees to monitor activities at the lower courts.

In this article:
Delta StateIfeanyi Okowa.
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet