Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Okowa nominates seven more commissioners, as lawmakers consider open grazing Bill


Ifeanyi Okowa

Greets Soyinka at 87
Delta State Governor, Ifeanyi Okowa has nominated seven additional commissioners in the state, which brings the number of commissioners to 26, as 18 were already sworn in two weeks ago.

The fresh commissioner nominees are Prof. Patrick Muoboghare, Chika Ossai, Basil Ganagana, Mordi Ononye, Ovie Oghoore, Bridget Anyafulu and Solomon Golley.

The Delta State House of Assembly has commenced debate on the Bill to prohibit open grazing, provide for regulation of livestock grazing, rearing, marketing and other related matters.


Representative of Ughelli South Constituency, Hon. Oghenerume Yakubu Ruben moved the motion and was seconded by, Deputy Speaker of the House, Hon. Christopher Ochor Ochor.

Speaker of the House, Sheriff Oborevwori, however, adjourned second reading of the Bill till July 14 (today).

MEANWHILE, Governor Okowa, yesterday, felicitated with Nobel Laureate, Prof. Wole Soyinka on his 87th birthday.

A statement issued by his Chief Press Secretary (CPS), Olisa Ifeajika, in Asaba, revealed that Okowa rejoiced with Soyinka on the anniversary, noting that the literary icon has remained one of Nigeria’s greatest pride and biggest export to the world.

Okowa stated that Soyinka’s years of outstanding accomplishments and consistency in the crusade for wellbeing of citizens had culminated in his legendary status, a great pride to Nigeria, Africa and the black race.

“As he clocks 87, I pray that Nigeria will yet again enjoy the benefit of having another generation of Soyinka to impact on the lives of the people and project Nigeria and Africa with honour to the world.”

“On behalf of my family, the government and people of Delta State, I congratulate Soyinka on his 87th birthday anniversary,” the statement reads.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet