The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Okowa presents 2019 budget to Assembly today


Delta State Governor Ifeanyi Okowa will today present a draft bill of the 2019 Appropriation law to the state House of Assembly.

He nominated Julius Takeme and Freeman Orits Fregene for appointment as commissioners and members of the State Executive Council (SEC).

He also nominated Mofe Pirah, Talib Tebite and Ejaife Odebala as members, Governing Board of the Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (DESOPADEC) and Dr. Samuel Ochonogor Ossai as Executive Director.

The names of the nominees were contained in a letter he sent to the House of Assembly, and read by the Speaker, Sheriff Oborevwori, at yesterday’s plenary.

While soliciting for cooperation from the House to enable him present the 2019 budget estimates, Okowa notified the House through a letter read by the Speaker.

The governor said the nomination was in exercising the powers conferred on him by Section 192 sub-section two of the country’s constitution.

Majority Leader, Tim Owhefere, thereafter, moved separate motions for the House to receive and approve the governor’s letter for further consideration.

Okowa further stated in the letter that the nominations was in exercise of the powers conferred on him by Section 7 sub-section 1A of the DSOPADEC Amendment law of 2018.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet