Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

PDP clears Akwa Ibom, Sokoto, Bauchi re-run polls, APC, AA win Imo, Cross River Rep seats


Shadalafia, Amwe win in Kaduna
The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has won in all the re-run elections ordered by the Court of Appeal in Essien Udom Local Council in Akwa Ibom State.

The re-run was for the Senate, House of Representatives and state House of Assembly.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Robert Dode, who announced the senatorial result at the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) collation centre in Ikot Ekpene, said that Ekpenyong polled 19,924 in Essien Udim, bringing his total votes to 134,717 to defeat Senator Godswill Akpabio who scored 6,903 aggregating only 83,820 votes in total.

In the House of Representatives re-run, the Returning Officer, Prof. Idara Akpabio, announced the victory of Nsikak Ekong of the PDP with 20,235 votes in Essien Udim to bring his tally to 45,366 votes as against APC’s Emman Akpan who scored a paltry 6,903 votes to raise his tally to 22,757.


Also, at Essien Udim Local Council Collation Centre, the Returning Officer, Prof. Victor Ebong, announced the victory of Mr. Esse Gerald Umoh of PDP, who polled 18,999 votes as against Mr. Nse Ntuen of APC who scored 7,108 votes.

Meanwhile, Dr. Alex Egbona of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has emerged winner of the Abi \Yakurr Federal Constituency re-run election in Cross River State.

According to the Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) of the state, Dr. Alalibo Johnson, Egbona scored a total of 29,716 votes to defeat John Gaul of the PDP who got 26,039 votes in the rerun that was conducted in Ekureku 1 and 2 wards in Abi Local Council.

Also, Mrs. Marian Odinaka Onuoha of the APC has been declared winner of the re -run election held in Onuimo/ Okigwe / Isiala Mbano Federal Constituency at the weekend, defeating other 27 candidates.

According to the Returning Officer, Onuoha scored 23,690 votes to defeat Obinna Kingsley Onwubuariri of the PDP in the second position, who polled 10,010 votes.

In the same vein, Uju Jovita Onwudiwe of the Action Alliance (AA) has been declared the winner of the Njaba State Constituency supplementary election in Imo State.

According to INEC, Onwudiwe scored 6,142 votes, while Charles Abia of the PDP came second with 5,487 votes.

The result from Orlu/Orsu/Oru East Federal Constituency is being awaited while some youths, suspected to be political thugs, invaded the collation centre and tore the result sheets during the supplementary election in Orlu/Orsu/Oru West Federal Constituency in Imo State, causing serious panic and leading to the halting of the collation process.

However, INEC in Akwa Ibom State has said that despite the successful conduct of the re-run, it was not without violence and electoral banditry, reminiscence of what happened in 2019 in the same Essien Udim Local Council.

A statement signed by the REC, Mr. Mike Igini, and made available to newsmen in Uyo yesterday, said the show of shame and disappointment exhibited in 2019 were in action by the same actors.

He said what the commission achieved during the re-run was as a result of co-operative efforts of the security agencies, especially the Nigeria Police Force.

In a similar vein, INEC has declared Alhaji Abubakar Abdullahi and Sa’idu Bargaja of the PDP as the winners of the re-run elections for Sokoto North/Sokoto South and Isa/Sabon-Birni Federal Constituencies of Sokoto State.


According to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), while Abdullahi scored 68,985 votes, Bargaja defeated his closest opponent of the APC with 44,490.

The INEC Returning Officer for Gamawa Local Council, Dr. Abubakar Mohammed, has declared Ahmed Madaki Gololo of the PDP as winner of Gamawa Federal Constituency re-run poll with 21,223 votes.

In Zaki Federal Constituency of Bauchi State where the supplementary election was held, the INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Ahmad Kutama, declared Auwal Jatau of the PDP winner having scored 15,405 votes.

Also, Comfort Amwe of the PDP has won the Sanga Constituency re-run election in Kaduna State.

According to the Returning Officer, Dr. Sani Sadiq Kubau, Amwe scored 19,815 votes to defeat her opponent, Haliru Gambo of the APC, who polled 19,688 votes.

Nuhu Shadalafiya of the APC won the re-run poll in Kagarko Constituency with 24,658 votes, according to the Returning Officer, Dr. Haruna Aminu.


In this article:
Akwa Ibom stateAPCINECPDP
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet