The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Senate confirms Augie, Eko as Supreme Court justices


Supreme Court

Supreme Court

The Senate has confirmed Justices Ejembe Eko and Amina Augie for the Supreme Court.

President Muhammadu Buhari had last month requested the Upper Chamber to confirm the appointment of the two justices who were nominated to fill existing vacancies in the apex court.

The vacancies were created by the retirement of Justices J.A. Fabiyi and M.S. Muntaka-Coomasie in November 2015 and February 2016.

Also yesterday, the Senate referred the President’s request for confirmation of five persons as members of the population commission to its relevant committee on national identity and census for screening.

The nominees are Benedict Ukpong, Gloria Izonfuo, Kupchi Patricia Ori Iyanya, Haliru Bala and Eyitayo Oyetunji.

It also referred the request of the President for confirmation of six nominees as members of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to its relevant committee on the agency.

In this article:
Amina AugieEjembe EkoINEC
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet