Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Senate okays six for NERC jobs


Demands fresh nominee for chairman slot
The Senate yesterday confirmed the appointment of six nominees into the governing board of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC).

This followed the submission of a report of the committee on power, steel development and metallurgy after resumption from their three-week break.

The nominees are Sanusi Garba, Vice Chairman (North-West), Nathan Rogers Shatti, Commissioner (North-East), Dr. Moses Arigu, Commissioner (North-Central), Dafe C. Akpedeye, Commissioner (South-South), Prof. Frank Okafor, Commissioner (South-East) and Dr. Musilliu O. Oseni, Commissioner (South-West).


However, chairman of the panel, Enyinnaya Abaribe, urged that the nominee forchairman of the commission, Akintunde Akinwande, who was absent, be approved. But his suggestion was rejected, necessitating the call on President Muhammadu Buhari to send another nominee for the position.

Akinwande had on two occasions late last year failed to appear before the panel amid denials from the Presidency that he rejected the appointment.

“Akintunde Akinwande is not recommended for confirmation as chairman of the Governing Board of the NERC.

“Consequently, the committee hereby requests the President to present another nominee to the Senate, pursuant to Section 34 (1) of the ESPR Act 2005,” the report read in part.

Senate President Bukola Saraki congratulated the vice chairman and the commissioners for their confirmation to serve in one of the critical sectors of the economy.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet