The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Wike sends fresh list of commissioner-nominees to Rivers Assembly


Governor Nyesom Wike has sent another list of commissioner-nominees to the Rivers State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.

The governor had earlier dispatched 13 names some eight months into his administration. The first batch was confirmed by the lawmakers last December.

However, before the 13 names, the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Dr. Zaccheaus Adagor, and the Commissioner for Finance, Isacc Kamalu, were screened and cleared barely two months after the governor took oath of office.


The latest list contains nine names, mostly former commissioners who served with the governor in his first term.

The ex-commissioners whose names are on the list are Boma Iyaye; Tamunosisi Gogo-Jaja; Emeka Onowu, Eloka Taise-Amadi and Prof. Chike Princewill

Others include Diamete Herbert-Miller; Tonye Oniyinde; Dr. Igbiks Tamuno and Ohia Prince.

The Guardian gathered that the nominees are to fill the remaining ministries, which had no commissioners, especially the Ministry of Health, following the recent outbreak of Lassa fever and Coronavirus in the country.

The nominees are to appear before the legislature today for screening and confirmation.

A statement by the Clerk of the House, Standford Oba, enjoined the nominees to submit 40 copies of their credentials, including tax clearance certificates to his office in Port Harcourt, just as they are expected too to come along with the originals.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet