The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

ATQ News unveils plans for Balafon Award 2020


Balafon Award 2020. Photo: DCODEDTV

ATQ News has released the list of nominees for the 2020 Balafon Awards to be recognised at the 6th Accra Weizo, the West African tourism and travel fair billed for June in Accra, Ghana.

Already, voting has commenced online on, while nominations for the ‘Award of the Decade’ should be sent to promptly. Nominations and voting will close on May 11, 2020.

Several deserving individuals and corporate bodies in West Africa have received the prestigious Balafon Award of excellence. Past winners include the Director-General of the National Council for Arts & Culture of Nigeria, Otunba Olusegun Runsewe (2019 Tourism Man of the Year), Captain Solomon Quainoo (2019 Aviation Man of the Year), and Stella Fubara of Dubai Tourism (2018 Travel Personality of the Year). Past corporate winners include Carnival Calabar, Air Peace, Kotoka International Airport, Kempinski Gold Coast Hotel, Accra and others.


This year, in addition to the usual annual awards, several worthy individuals and leading corporate entities in the industry will be honoured with awards of the decade.

The winners of the 2020 Balafon Awards will be published on before the 6th Accra Weizo takes place. Accra Weizo themed Seamless travel is West Africa, is the regional travel and tourism expo, which brings industry professionals together across West Africa.

Initiated in 2014 by ATQ News, Accra Weizo West African travel expo, which is hosted annually in the Ghanaian capital city of Accra, will celebrate its sixth edition this year with 2019 Balafon Award winner, Captain Solomon Quianoo, the first Ghanaian to fly the world’s biggest passenger aircraft A380, who has been confirmed as the guest speaker.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet