The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Nigeria ready to engrave name on 2020 Oscars slate



The Nigerian Oscars Selection Committee (NOSC) has started the search for the film that will fly Nigeria’s flag at the Best International Feature film Category of the 2020 Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), popularly called ‘The Oscars’. Chairman of the just reconstituted 12-member NOSC Chineze Ayaene disclosed that upon receipt of approval by the Academy for the reconstitution of the NOSC, the committee’s secretariat announced the call for entries which as she said is opened to Nigerian filmmakers, living in Nigeria or in the Diaspora, interested in submitting their work for consideration by the committee ‘before it is submitted to the Oscars.’

According to Chineze, ‘’the films to be entered has to be above 40 minutes, and produced outside the USA. Once we receive the entry, it will be scrutinized under the eligibility rules and the nominated film will represent Nigeria at the Academy awards 2020.’’

Also, Ayaene, an award winning filmmaker disclosed that for a film to be eligible, it must have, among other criteria’s, been released in Nigeria between October 1, 2018 and September 30, 2019.


Similarly Ayaene, best known for directing the box office movie ‘Ije’ hinted that to qualify, the film must have been exhibited in a commercial cinema theatre for at least seven days and should not have been released under any other arrangement ‘like on cable and streamed’ before the commercial exhibition. Also, Ayaene clarified that some of the criteria for selection include originality of the story, good directing, acting, cinematography, and sound while the recording of the original dialogue track as well as the completed picture ‘’must be predominantly in a language or languages other than English’’. The Nigerian Oscars Selection Committee is the only body authorized to submit entries to the Academy that will compete in the Best International Feature category. The committee was constituted in 2015 but it was reconstituted by the AMPAS early September to select a film that will fly Nigeria’s flag at the Oscars.

Member of the committee include Charles Novia, Mahmood Ali-Balogun, Ramsey Nouah Jnr, Husseini Shaibu, Ngozi Okafor, Chioma Ude, Adetokunbo ‘DJ Tee’ Odubawo, Bruce Ayonote, Abba Makama and Cj Obasi. The committee has up until October 1st to send Nigeria’s entry to the Academy secretariat.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet