The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Okey Bakkasi, Ronnie Dikko, Sam Dede chair Actor Guild Committees


Actor and stand-up comedian, Okechukwu Anthony Onyegbule, who is popular as Okey Bakassi, is to chair the newly constituted Harmonisation Committee of the Actors Guild of Nigeria (AGN).

The committee, according to the Director of Publicity of the AGN Monalisa Chinda-Coker, was constituted and inaugurated by the President of the AGN Emeka Rollas Ejezie to harmonise recommendations of past committees with the ultimate aim of producing a handbook for members.


Other members of the harmonisation committee, according to Coker, are Joke Silva, Omotola Jalade Ekeinde, Bimbo Manuel, Ijeoma Imoh, and Marcus Maina. Former Chairman of the Lagos chapter of the AGN Don Pedro Aganbi is to serve as secretary.

Similarly, Coker announced the setting up and inauguration of the Disciplinary Committee and the committee on the establishment of a women crisis institute. The disciplinary committee, which as Coker said “is to maintain law and order in the guild and to ensure actors uphold ethical standards,” has the award-winning actor and respected academic Achibi Sam Dede as Chairman. Members of the committee are Tricia Esigbe, Kanayo O. Kanayo, Adigizi Bala, Clarion Chukwura, and Funsho Adeolu, while Lilian Amah-Aluko is to serve as secretary.

The Committee on Establishment of the Women Crisis Institute is chaired by veteran actress Ronnie Dikko, while members include Kate Henshaw, Keppy Ekpeyong -Bassey, AJility Onwurah, Kareem Mohammed, Hajia Salma, Shan George, Chris Oge Kalu, Rita Daniels, Blossom Chukwujekwu, Oby Okafor, Desmond Elliot, and Femi Branch. The actress Chidi Okafor is to serve as secretary of the committee that is saddled with the responsibility of helping the National Council of Nigerian Women Societies in raising funds to start the institute.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet