Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Cricket League commences today


The maiden cricket league tagged ‘Iris Smart Technologies Abuja Cricket League’ will hold at the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) in Abuja between today and April 28th, this is after over 14 years of its development.

Teams taking part in this year’s edition include the Cricket Club Abuja Panthers (CCAP) captained by Pankaj Thaira; Aso Rock Cricket Club (ARCC) captained by Gbenga Ariyo; Abuja Pakistanis Cricket Club (APCC) captained by Hashim Mohammad, and Abuja Indians Cricket Club (AICC) captained by Abhinav Sharma.

The winning team is expected to get two points while tied matches will be decided by a super over. The two top teams from the league will play in the final match. In the case of two teams having the same number of total points, team with better Net Run Rate (NRR) will go to the next stage.


Where two teams have the same number of total points an NRR, the team with the better runs aggregate of the two pool matches between them will determine the winner that will precede the next stage. Every team will play all other teams twice in the league matches.

The best team is expected to go home with prize money in the region of tens of thousands and a trophy as well as various winners of best bowler, best batsman, best fielder and best all rounder who will get various prize monies and trophies.

The League, which seeks to encourage the participation of the restive youths in order to excel in the sport, also helps in molding their character. Emphasis is also placed on rewards for individuals’ performances in all the departments of the game namely, fielding, batting, bowling and most valuable player for good sportsmanship.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet