Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Nigerian Sports Award gets Naija Flavour


Member, Nigerian Sports Award (NSA), Mitchel Obi(left); Chairman, NSA Panel, Kweku Tandoh and former Nigerian athlete and member of NSA Panel, Falilat Ogunkoya during the media parley for the 2019 edition of Nigerian Sports Award in Lagos PHOTO:SUNDAY AKINLOLU

Organizers of the Nigerian Sports Award say this year’s edition will be Naija Flavour, just as they announced the opening of entries for the different categories for the event.

Executive Director, Nigerian Sports Award, Mr. Kayode Idowu, stated in Lagos on Thursday that nominations, which heralds the commencement of activities for the 2019 edition of the award opened since June 19, 2019 and will end on Sunday, October 13.

Idowu stated that both the organisers and recipients of awards would appear in their various traditional attires (Naija Flavour) on the day of the event slated for Eko Hotel in November.


A total of 21 categories are open for nomination from the general public in this year’s edition of the award. These categories recognize individuals; males; female; physically challenged; continental participants; indigenous games, media and community builders.

They include; Racket Sports Person of the Year (Lawn Tennis, Table Tennis, Badminton and Squash), Team Sports Person of the Year (Handball, Volleyball, Football, Basketball), Combat Sports Personality of the Year (Wrestling, Karate, Judo, Taekwondo & Boxing), Individual sports person of the year (Weight lifting, Athletics), Basketball player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Discovery of the Year, Footballer of the Year (Women), Footballer of the Year (Men).

Others include; Wrestler of the Year, School Sport Award, Para Sports Person of the Year, Team of the Year, Athletics Star of the Year, Sports Governor of the Year, Sportsman of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year, Sports Journalist of the Year (Radio), Sports Journalist of the Year (TV), Sports Journalist of the Year (Print) and Sports Photo Journalist of the Year

Idowu also stated that this year, nominations can be done through three channels; Online through the award official website –, the manual entries (hard copies) nomination forms available at all Sports Federation

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet