The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter

Zinox chairman is 2016 IT Person of the Year


Dr. Leo Stan Ekeh, Chairman of Zinox Group,

Chairman, Zinox Technologies, Leo Stan Ekeh, has emerged winner of the maiden edition of Technology Times Person of The Year 2016 Award that honours most enduring contributions to the Nigerian ICT industry.

Director General/Chief Executive Officer of National Identity Management Commission (NIMC), Engineer Aliyu Abubakar Aziz and Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Lagos State, Steve Ayorinde, jointly unveiled the award plaque at the Technology Times Outlook 2017 cocktail wrapping up the two-day yearly summit held in Lagos.

Speaking at the announcement of the Zinox Chairman as winner of the tech award, Founder of Technology Times, Shina Badaru, said the Technology Times Person of the Year 2016 was introduced to honour the person, either in industry or government that has made the most enduring contribution to the information and communication technology (ICT) industry in Nigeria.

Ekeh was nominated along five other distinguished Nigerians including Dr Mike Adenuga, Chairman Globacom Limited; Professor Umar Garba Danbatta, Chief Executive/Executive Vice Chairman, Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC); Dr Omobola Johnson, Pioneer Minister of Communication Technology for Nigeria; Ms Funke Opeke, Chief Executive Officer, MainOne and Mr Jim Ovia, Pioneer Chairman, Visafone Communications Limited.

These final honourees were decided through complementary decision of Technology Times Editors (40 per cent) and online voting (60 per cent) by the Internet community across Nigeria, Africa and beyond on the official website of the company,, according to Badaru.

Based on the results of the online voting, Dr Adenuga, Chairman of Globacom had 15 votes; Professor Danbatta of NCC, 5 votes; Dr Ekeh of Zinox Technologies, 457 votes; Dr Johnson pioneer Minister of Communication Technology, 16 votes; Ms. Opeke of MainOne, 10 votes and Ovia, pioneer Chairman, Visafone, five votes.

Hence, based on the result of the votes, Mr Ekeh, Chairman, Zinox Technologies with 457 votes which is 90 per cent of the total votes, emerged as the winner of the Technology Times Person of The Year 2016.

No Comments yet