The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

ANA announces prizes’ shortlist




Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA) has announced the shortlist of all its prizes ahead of the writers’ association’s planned 35th yearly National Convention scheduled for Abuja from October 27 through 30, 2016. On the shortlist for the prose fiction category is the Arts Editor of The Sun newspaper, Mr. Henry Akubuiro. Prodigals in Paradise is his entry. Another notable writer in the shortlist for poetry category is university teacher and poet, Dr. Obari Gomba, with his collection, Thunder Protocol. R.C. Ofodile is shortlisted in two categories – drama and short story prizes; his works are fated Rift (drama) and From Sin to Splendour (short story).

For ANA prose fiction prize, it is Avenger of Blood by Franklin Finecountry, On the Bank of the River by Ifeoluwapo Adeniyi, Prodigals in Paradise by Henry Akubuiro and Odufa: A Lovers’ Tale by Othuke Ominiabohs. For ANA drama prize, it’s Kosoko King of Eko by Fela Omoyele, Sacking the Porter by Olatunde Bolaji and Fated Rift by R.C. Ofodile. For ANA peotry prize, it’s Thunder Protocol by Obari Gomba
, Kontradiction by Saddiq Dzukogi and The Birth of Illusion by Jumoke Verissimo.

ANA/Abubakr Gimba Prize for Short Stories has River People and Other Stories by Peter Ukwa
, Midnight Cry by Paul Ugah
 and From Sin to Splendour by R. C. Ofodile. Also, the ANA/Ngozi Chuma Udeh Prize for Children’s Literature
 has The Quest for the Gem of Arubia by Augusta Mmakamba Okon, Sunny and the Arodan by Ozimede Sunny Ekhaalume and Water-Carrier Millionaire by Philip Begho.


For ANA/Maria Ajima Prize for Literary Criticism, it’s “The Film Script, Nollywood and Cultural Diplomacy: Criticism of Artist’s Knowledge of the Film Story” by Nwagbo Pat Obi (for honorable mention only).

ANA panel of judges for these prizes include Prof. Nelson Fashina of University of Ibadan, Mallam Salihu Mohammed Bappa of Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Ismaila Bala Garba of Bayero University, Kano, Dr. Owojecho Omoha of University of Abuja
 and Mrs. Joan Oji of Educational Resource Centre, Abuja.

According to a statement signed by ANA 
Publicity Secretary (South), Mr. Olatunbosun Taofeek, winners of the various prizes would be announced at the awards and dinner to close ANA’s 35th International Convention on Saturday, October 29, 2016 in Abuja.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet