Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Justice summit to honour Mahmoud, Bello, other jurists


NBA President Abubakar Mahmoud

The Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) Criminal Justice Reform Committee has unveiled plans to honour leading jurists and other stakeholders who have distinguished themselves in promoting criminal justice reform in Nigeria. 

Among those to receive the awards at the forthcoming NBA Criminal Justice Reform Conference in Asaba are all past chairmen of the NBA Criminal Justice Reform Committee, among whom is current NBA President, Mr. Abubakar Mahmoud (SAN).

A statement at the weekend by Mr. Emeka Nwadioke, Head of Publicity Sub-committee, also listed the honorees to also include Honourable Justice Ishaq Bello, Chief Judge of FCT High Court and Chairman of the Administration of Criminal Justice Monitoring Committee; former NBA President, Mr. Joseph Daudu (SAN), and Dr. Garba Tetengi (SAN).


Others are renowned criminal justice reform advocates including Mr. Fola Arthur-Worrey, Professor Deji Adekunle (SAN), Prof. Yemi Akinseye-George (SAN), Mr. Chino Obiagwu, and frontline prison reform activist and Executive Director of Prisoners Rehabilitation and Welfare Action (PRAWA), Dr. Uju Agomoh.

Also to be bestowed with the awards are Delta State Governor, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, MacArthur Foundation as well as the Yar’Adua Foundation for their support to criminal justice reform initiatives in the country.

Delta State is hosting the criminal justice reform conference for a second time. The state is also hosting the dinner for conferees. The dinner/awards will draw the curtains on the 5th Criminal Justice Reform Conference scheduled to hold at the Asaba Convention Centre between April 24 and 27, 2018.

The theme of the conference is “Criminal justice reforms in Nigeria: The journey so far.” Nigeria’s Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo SAN is expected to deliver the keynote address, while leading jurist and former Director-General of the Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (NIALS), Prof. Epiphany Azinge (SAN) will deliver the dinner speech.

Other dignitaries expected at the ICLE-certified conference are Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, House of Representatives Speaker, Mr. Yakubu Dogara and Attorney General of the Federation, Mr. Abubakar Malami (SAN) among other leading jurists.

In this article:
Abubakar MahmoudNBA
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet