Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

NHEA to celebrate outstanding health practitioners tomorrow


Stethoscope on a printed sheet of paper

The Nigerian Healthcare Excellence Award (NHEA) plans to celebrate individuals and organizations, institutions and States that have impacted significantly in the Nigerian health sector in the last one-year.

The award also recognizes practitioners who have through their unique innovations brought about great development in the sector.

NHEA is an initiative of Global Health Project and Resources (GHPR) in collaboration with Anadach group of the United States.


The award, which is in its fifth year, would hold on Friday, June 22, 2018 at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

It is in four major categories: Healthcare service; Biomedical technology and Pharmaceutical awards.

The special awards give recognition to lifetime achievement, outstanding state government healthcare programme, and healthcare media excellence print, online and broadcast among other recognitions.

The healthcare delivery service category, which constitutes the highest number of awards, would honour private healthcare provider of the yea, private laboratory service provider of the year, and health maintenance organisation of the year among others.

The third category would recognize Biomedical engineering Service Company of the year, Laboratory equipment marketing company of the year and hospital equipment marketing company of the year while the last category would honour Pharmaceutical retail outlet of the year and Pharmaceutical manufacturing company of the year.

In a statement released by NHEA Director of Communication, Marketing and Strategy, Moses Braimah, over 2500 nominations have been received from the public.

He also revealed that there would be a screening committee, led by an expert panelist who would go through all the nominations thoroughly and with the consent of major Stakeholders shortlist the best nominations across all award categories.

Also, an adhoc committee will do the shortlisting from which the jury will select the top three winners.

Members of the jury include Dr. Olufemi Olugbile, MD/CEO of FM Synthesiz Nigeria Limited, Dr. Babatunde Olujobi, Managed Care Consultant, Dr. Egbe Osifo-Dawodu, Partner at Anadach Group and Prof. Kolawole Oyedeji from the Dept. of Medical Laboratory Sciences, CMUL, Idi-Araba, Lagos

Chairman, board of advisory committee, Mr. Anthony Omolola told the press that the procedures of selecting the winners is an herculean one as he believes the awards have made past winners maintain high international standards and practices.

“The process of selecting winners in the different categories is not an easy one. We have a lot of wonderful nominees who are voted based on international standards by doctors, nurses and other professionals in the healthcare industry.

We also do a physical inspection for proper certification of all parameters,” he said.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet