Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ugwuanyi emerges Most Efficient Governor of the Year, as Airtel, NB, others shine at 2017 BJAN awards


Zonal Business Manager,Airtel Nigeria Limited, Lawrence Odediran; Chief Executive Officer, Core Experiential Marketing Limited/Guest Speaker, Solabomi Okonkwo; Chairman Brand Journalist Association of Nigeria(BJAN), Goddie Ofose; Representative of NIPR President, Ihuoma Phillips-Daniel and Media Relations Manager, Nigerian Breweries Plc, Emeka Aniukwu, at BJAN 5th Annual Brands & Marketing conference recently in Enugu

Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State recently emerged as the Most Efficient Governor of the Year at the yearly Brand and Marketing Conference of Brand Journalists Association of Nigeria (BJAN), organised to reward outstanding performances by individuals, brands and service providers across the country. The event, which held at Nike Lake Hotel and Resorts, Enugu, recognised the governor for his efficient revenue utilization, infrastructure development and focus on the welfare of workers

Apart from Enugu State governor, his counterpart in the neighboring state, Abia State governor, Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu went home with the Best Made in Nigeria Promoter of the Year, while Mr. Steve Ayorinde, Lagos State Commissioner for Information and Strategies bagged Best Information Manager (Public). Telecommunications company, Airtel, clinched two awards on the night, with its Chief Executive Officer Mr. Segun Ogunsanya, recognised as Best Indigenous CEO of the Year, while its Vice President, Brands and Marketing, Mr. Enitan Denloye, emerged Marketing Director of the Year.


Other winners were Mr. Nnamdi John Okonkwo, MD, Fidelity Bank Plc, was given the CEO of the Year, while Best Corporate Brand Manager Award went to the duo of Mrs. Nkiru Olumide-Ojo of Stanbic Bank and Mrs. Folake Ani-Mumeney of First Bank and also President, Advertisers Association of Nigeria (ADVAN). Mr. Kufre Ekanem of Nigerian Breweries Plc and Mr. Anthony Chiejina of Dangote emerged as Best Image Makers (Private), with Best Campaign Manager of the Year award going to Mr. Segun Ogunleye, Marketing Manager, Seven-Up Bottling Company.

Executive Chairman, Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS), Mr. Babatunde Fowler, got the Most Efficient Public Office Manager award, while Group Chief Executive Officer, Verdant Zeal Communications, emerged BJAN Flag-bearer of the Year.

In his reaction, Ugwuanyi commended the journalists and Nigerian media for their steadfastness in helping to strengthen governance through responsible reportage, adding, “I must appreciate the thoughts and efforts behind this honour. It has not been easy, given the dire economic circumstances we found ourselves after assuming office.”

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet