The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

89 political parties yet to submit list of candidates to INEC


[FILE PHOTO] INEC Chairman, Prof Mahmoud Yakubu

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has said that none of the 89 registered political parties that notified the commission of their intention to conduct their primaries has submitted the list of their sponsored candidates (Form CFDOZ) and personal particulars (Form 001) to the centre designated by the Commission for the collection of the said documents.

The commission stated that the deadlines for the submission of Forms CF001 and CF002 for next year’s general elections remain October 18 for Presidential and National Assembly and November 21 for governorship and state assemblies.

A statement from the Commission explained that the chairmanship of five out of its 15 standing committees had been re-organised, with Festus Okoye heading the Information and Voter Education Committee, while Solomon Adedeji Soyebi heads the Board of the Electoral Institute.

Mohammed Mustafa Lecky now heads Planning, Monitoring and Strategy Committee, Amina Bala Zakari, Health and Welfare Committee and Okechukwu lbeanu taking charge of the Electoral Operations and Logistics Committee.

Veteran journalist and National Commissioner, Mohammed Haruna, is now member of the Information and Voter Education Committee.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet