Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Adamawa APC senators, reps lose at tribunal


The National Assembly Election Petitions Tribunal sitting in Yola, Adamawa State, has dismissed the petitions of two All Progressives Congress (APC) senators, Binta Garba (Adamawa North) and Ahmad Abubakar Adamawa South), on the ground that they lack legal ingredients.

Other judicial casualties from the judgement delivered yesterday were two of the party’s House of Representatives candidates, Alhaji Sadiq Dasin (Fufore/Song constituency) and Bema Ovandi (Numan, Demsa/Lamurde constituency).

The three-man panel headed by Justice Sulaiman Akanbi, in its eight-hour landmark judgement, described the allegations of the petitioners as mere perceptions that have no place in law.


Justice Akanbi, in his ruling on the petition filed by Abubakar, said that the petitioner, instead of proving his case on point of law, engaged himself in “hyperbolic exaggeration”.

He added, “You can deceive some people sometimes, but you cannot deceive everybody all the time.”

The petitioners failed to prove before the court that there were massive irregularities during the poll, he said, pointing out that the burden of proof is on the shoulders of the petitioners.

On the allegation that the smart card reader was not used in some of the polling units, Akanbi said that since there was no law disbanding the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) from the use of voters register during elections, the petitioners’ allegations remained a “market square speculation.”

The tribunal confirmed Senator Binos Yaroe of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for southern zone and the embattled Elisha Abbo of PDP for northern zone as winners of the ballot.

Also, Laori Kwamoti of PDP was affirmed for Numan, Demsa/Lamurde constituency and Mustafa Saidu of PDP for Fufore/Song as winners.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet