Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

APC wins all 20 chairmanship seats in Ogun LG polls


• Abiodun inaugurates chairmen, vice today
The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has won all the 20 local government seats in last Saturday’s council election in Ogun State.

The umpire, Ogun State Independent Electoral Commission (OGSIEC), released the results yesterday.

OGSIEC boss, Babatunde Osibodu, who made the announcement at the commission’s head office in Oke-Ilewo, Abeokuta, said the total number of votes cast in the 20 council areas was 396,641.

“I want to say that APC won all the chairmanship seats in the 20 local government areas in the state,” he declared.


He said the results of the elections into the 236 councillorship positions in the state would be released as soon as they were ready.

Governor Dapo Abiodun, meanwhile, will inaugurate the newly elected chairmen and vice-chairmen of the 20 local councils today.

The Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Kunle Somorin, said, yesterday, that the inauguration would take place at the Arcade Ground of the State Secretariat Complex, Oke-Mosan by 1:00 p.m.

According to the statement, guests should be seated by 12:30 p.m. and comply with the coronavirus disease prevention protocols.

Saturday’s poll was characterised by low turnout of voters and indifference. Though residents fully complied with the restriction order announced by the electoral umpire, many deliberately shunned the polling units. Most of the polling booths across the three senatorial districts were deserted.

The extension of the voting deadline from 2:00 p.m., earlier issued by OGSIEC, to 3:00 p.m. appeared to have been a move to give ample room to the electorate to exercise their franchise. Osibodu nevertheless insisted that the turnout was massive.


The election exposed division within the party as the immediate past governor, Ibikunle Amosun, who is the sitting senator representing Ogun Central and his followers, shunned the poll. A chieftain of the party, Aremo Olusegun Osoba, was also absent likewise Vice President Yemi Osinbajo. It was also learnt that the two other senators representing Ogun West and East were conspicuously absent during the poll.

Some of the results announced indicated Odulate Olashile of the APC emerged winner for Sagamu Local Government, garnering 20,935 valid votes, while Ajayi Olaoye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), and David Sunday of the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP) got 930 and 359 votes respectively.

Other results announced by Osibodu showed that for Ijebu-East, Mr. Adewale Saliu Adedayo (APC) defeated his closest rival, Sanusi Sulaimon (PDP), who got 3,044 votes with a total valid vote of 9,960. Johnson Omolara (NNPP) and Zacchaeus Adewale of the Young Progressive Party (YPP) had zero votes.

For Ijebu North, APC’s Odusanya Omobolaji came top with 25,701 valid votes, defeating Afosi Morenikeji (NNPP) and Sobowale Onabanjo, who amassed 594 and 1927 votes respectively.

Similarly, APC candidate in Ijebu North East, Folusho Badejo, clinched 8,368 total votes cast to defeat PDP’s Odusanya Olukeke, who had 573. Odunsi Adedapo (APC) had 9,475 total votes cast to defeat the PDP’s candidate, Obatunde Hakeem, who scored 604 votes.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet