The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ashafa kicks as Osinowo wins Lagos East APC Senatorial ticket


Senator Gbenga Ashafa

The lawmaker representing Kosofe 1 Constituency in Lagos State House of Assembly, Mr. Bayo Osinowo, has defeated the incumbent senator, Mr. Gbenga Ashafa, who represents Lagos East zone in the red chamber.
Ashafa’s bid to return to the Senate for the third time suffered a set back, yesterday, when he lost the ticket to Osinowo in the primaries conducted by the Lagos State chapter of All Progressives Congress (APC).
The incumbent senator was defeated by a wide margin of 243, 734 by Osinowo to 20, 385, according to the results announced by the APC Electoral Committee of the National Assembly and State House of Assembly primaries in Lagos.
The primaries, initially held on Thursday, were cancelled and rescheduled, owing to logistic issues.

Announcing the results in Ikeja, Chairman of the committee, Mr. Lucky Imasuen, said the primaries were contested for three senatorial seats, 24 House of Representatives and 40 state House of Assembly seats.

Imasuen said Senator Oluremi Tinubu, who was unopposed, polled 89,494 votes to emerge as candidate for Lagos Central.

For Lagos West, the committee chairman said the incumbent, Senator Olamilekan Solomon, emerged winner with 378,906 votes, as against the 1,179 votes scored by Mr. Kayode Opeifa and Mrs. Areago Olopade’s 1,275 votes.
Meanwhile, Ashafa has dismissed the result, saying it did not reflect the wishes of party members in Lagos East. 
In a statement yesterday, Ashafa insisted that being the only recognised candidate that was cleared along with Tinubu and Adeola, he was going into the elections unopposed.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet