Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Award: Okowa attributes success to Deltans, experience in governance 


[FILE PHOTO] Delta State Governor, H.E Sen. Dr. Ifeanyi Arthur Okowa

Delta State Governor Ifeanyi Okowa was on Thursday night crowned ‘Governor of The Year, 2018’ for his diligent delivery of democratic dividends and working to make Nigeria’s democracy better by the Independent Newspaper.

Okowa, a former secretary and later, chairman of Ika Local Government, Commissioner for Agriculture and later, Health, as well as Water resources, Secretary to the State Government (SSG) and senator representing Delta North in the National Assembly before emerging as the governor of the state, while receiving the award at the event held at Eko Hotels and Suites, Lagos, attributed his success stories to years of learning the act of governance and strong partnership with the people of Delta State in delivering democratic dividends. 

The governor, according to a press release made available by Delta State Press Unit, who attended the event with an array of personalities from the state, said: “Recall that last year, I was here to receive the ‘Man of The Year Award, 2017’ and I am honoured again today.


These are possible because we are in perfect relationship with our people back home. 

“I thank God for His blessings. Though the terrain was tough, but I am able to succeed with our people because of the experience we have garnered in the act of governance over the years, in partnership with all Deltans that are now, more united than ever. As a government, we will continue to ensure good governance and better days ahead for us all.

“I am comfortable saying that we are achieving results, which has earned us several awards, including this one, because of positive partnership that brings confidence and satisfaction to our people, no matter where they may be, and as an individual, I will continue to appreciate Deltans for the genuine partnership with my administration.”

Bayelsa State Governor Seriake Dickson, who emerged ‘Man Of The Year’ at the event, dedicated his award to the people of the state, just as he congratulated Okowa for his deserved ward, noting that he and other award recipients at the ceremony “have contributed greatly to the building of the nation.”

Apart from Okowa and Dickson, other awardees include Rivers State Governor Nyesom Wike as ‘Political Icon Of The Year, 2018;’ Governors Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia), ‘Governor Of The Year In Entrepreneurship, 2018; Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu), ‘Grassroots Development Governor Of The Year, 2018;’ Aare Afe Babalola (SAN), ‘Achiever Of The Year, 2018;’ Delta State Oil Producing Area Developmental Commission (DESOPADEC), ‘Outstanding State Agency Of The Year, 2018’ and Air Peace, ‘Airline Of The Year, 2018,’ among numerous others. 

Chairman of the occasion, Mansur Ahmed, had in his speech, observed that the occasion was to honour “men and women who have distinguished themselves. For Nigeria to be great, we have to recognise, honour our great men and women.”

Earlier in a welcome address, Managing Director/Editor-in-Chief of newspapers, Mr. Ade Ogidan, said: “We are here today to celebrate great Nigerians who have distinguished themselves and made great impact on nation-building.

“This event is to tell a story of achievers with impeccable profile.”

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet