The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Delta election tribunal grants Ibru’s, Oboro’s prayers


Delta State election petition tribunal has granted the prayers of Evelyn Oboro and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), in an ex parte motion to examine all documents for the Delta Central Senatorial District polls of February 23, 2019.

After considering the prayers of the petitioners, chairman of the tribunal, Justice M. A. Abubakar held that the motion had merit in the petition, EPT/DT/SEN/01/19, between Oboro Evelyn, PDP (petitioners) and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Omo-Agege Augustine, All Progressives Congress (APC), the petitioners also prayed the court to grant leave to the applicant to bring the application before the pre-hearing session.

In a related development, it also granted the prayers of Kenneth Ibru and the PDP versus INEC, APC and Oniyere Charles in the petition, EPT/DT/SHA/36/19 directing the first respondent to allow the petitioner access to the electoral materials for Delta State House of Assembly, Ughelli North Constituency 1 held on February 9, 2019, for examination.

In another ex parte motion, the court granted the prayers of Temisan Omatseye and the Action Democratic Party (ADP) against James Manager, PDP and INEC, in its petition, EPT/DT/SEN/12/19, that an order of court be served on Manager (first respondent) by substituted means.

The lead counsel of the petitioners, Donald Igwe, who spoke with journalists, expressed satisfaction with the ruling, stressing that it meant an automatic personal service, which he described as “giving him our petition through personal service and wherefore he has been avoiding such, they had to come through substituted means.”

Other motions considered included the election of the House of Assembly, Ughelli North Constituency 2, between Eric Oharisi, PDP and INEC, APC and Egbo Jaro as well as that of Ethiope East Constituency between Evance Ivwurie, PDP and INEC, APC, Mr. Andi Emosivwe.

Also attended to was the Isoko South II Constituency election between Israel Umerri (petitioner) and INEC, Delta State Resident Electoral Commissioner, Returning Officer (Isoko South II Federal Constituency), Ferguson Onwo and PDP (respondents).

In this article:
Evelyn OboroKenneth Ibru
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet