Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Dogara decries states’ failure to establish assembly commission


Speaker, House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara PHOTO: TWITTER/House of Representatives

• Wike seeks strong, effective assemblies
• Mourn deputy majority leader, Jibrin

Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, has decried the failure of some states to establish Assembly Service Commission that will ensure the independence of the Legislature.

Similarly, Rivers State Governor Nyesom Wike has implored national and state assembly commissions to provide strong and effective institutional support to the legislative houses.

The duo stated this yesterday during the seventh national and state assembly commissions’ conference in Port Harcourt.


Dogara, represented by Deputy Chief Whip, Parley Iriase, said some states in the country had failed to establish their assembly service commission.

He gave the assurance that the House of Representatives would work towards ensuring that the all states establish their service commissions.

Wike, who declared the conference open, told participants that only the effective performance by the national and state assemblies would help in the advancement of democracy in the country.

He said there was need for a co-operative relationship between the national and state assemblies for the entrenchment of democratic values at all levels.

Chairman of the National Assembly Service Commission, Dr. Adamu Fika, urged all state governments yet to establish their commission to do so for the independence of the legislature.

In another development, the House members yesterday paid a glowing tribute at a valedictory session to extol the virtues and legacies of their fallen colleague, Buba Jibrin, who died recently when the House was on Easter holiday.

The Speaker, while paying a glowing tribute at a valedictory session in honour of the deceased, described Jubrin as a man of relentless vision.

Also, the Majority Leader, Femi Gbajabiamila, said the seat occupied by his deputy would remain empty even though it might be re-occupied in the nearest future.

Other lawmakers, who also spoke at the session, include Mohammed Monguno (Borno), Nnenna Ukaeje (Abia), Nicholas Ossai (Delta), Chike Okafor (Imo), Tajudeen Yusuf (Kogi) and Sani Abdul (Bauchi).

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet