The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

INEC declares Obaseki winner of Edo governorship election


Godwin Obaseki of People’s Democratic Party has been declared the winner of the Edo State governorship election held on Saturday.

Obaseki polled a total of 307, 955 votes to defeat All Progressives Congress’s Osagie Ize-Iyamu-Iyamu who got 223, 619 votes, according to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).


The PDP candidate won with a difference of 84,336 over APC's Ize-Iyamu. Obaseki won 13 of 18 local governments in Edo State while Ize-Iyamu won in five local governments.

Below are the results by local government:

Igueben LG: APC 5199, PDP 7870

Oredo LG: APC 18,365, PDP 43,498

Esan North East LG: APC 6,556, PDP 13,579

Esan West LG: APC 7,189, PDP 17,434

Etsako West LG: APC 26,140, PDP 17,959

Esan Central LG: APC 6,719, PDP 10,694

Ikpoba Okha LG: APC 18,218, PDP 41,030

Egor LG: APC 10,202, PDP 27,621

Uhunmwonde LG: APC 5,972, PDP 10,022


Owan East LG: APC 19,295, PDP 14,762

Owan West LG: APC 11,193, PDP 11,485

Ovia North East LG: APC 9,907, PDP 16,987

Esan South-East LG: APC 9,237, PDP 10,563

Akoko Edo LG: APC 22,963, PDP 20,101

Etsako East LG: APC 17,011, PDP 10,668

Etsako Central LG: APC 8,358, PDP 7,478

Orhionmwon LG: APC 10,458, PDP 13,445

Ovia South West LG: APC 10,636, PDP 12,659

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet