Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

INEC declares PDP candidate winner of Imo Rep seat


Nigeria’s electoral body, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has declared candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) Jerry Alagbaso winner of the House of Representatives election held in Orlu/Orsu/Oru East federal constituency of Imo State.

The returning officer, Prof. Innocent Madufor, announced the result at its office in Owerri, the state capital on Monday morning.

Resident Electoral Commissioner, Francis Chukwuemeka Ezeonu had on Saturday, February 23, 2019, declared the elections inconclusive due to violence and snatching of ballot boxes.

Madufor, however, declared Alagboso, who polled 21, 273 votes winner of the election. Action Alliance (AA) candidate, Ikenna Ihezuo polled 2,171 votes, while Edwin Iheanacho of the All Progressives Congress polled 20,061 votes.

Alagbaso is returning to the House of representatives for the third time. He was first elected in 2011.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet