Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Makinde dissolves Oyo electoral body


Oyo State Governor Seyi Makinde has dissolved the board of the Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) with effect from July 1.

This is coming few days after the governor promised to reorganise the commission and conduct council polls before April 2020.A letter signed by the Head of Service, Mrs. Ololade Agboola, a copy of which was made available to journalists, conveyed the governor’s approval of the dissolution.

She, however, noted that the state was aware that the tenure of members of the board has not yet expired, saying the government was prepared to offset salary and allowances payable to them till the expiration of their tenure.

This is just as they were asked to submit government properties in their possession to the most senior director in the board.The immediate past administration of Abiola Ajimobi inaugurated members of the dissolved OYSIEC in June 2016, with John Ajeigbe as chairman and Sunday Aborisade, Adedeji Raimi, David Adeagbo, Omolola Odekunbi, Alhaji AbdulRazaq Akuru, Lateef Bello and Rasheed Olajire as members.


In this article:
Seyi Makinde
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet