Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ugwuanyi rewards six Enugu recipients of President’s NYSC Honours award


The Enugu State Governor, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, yesterday, received the six National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) members from the state who were among recipients of the President’s NYSC Honours award in Abuja, 2021, for distinguishing themselves creditably in the service of their fatherland, during the 2018/2019 service year.

The six awardees from Enugu State, alongside others across the country were also given automatic employment and scholarship for their post-graduate programmes by President Muhammadu Buhari who directed the relevant government agencies to ensure timely implementation of all the incentives for the award recipients.

Receiving the Enugu State indigenes, at the EXCO Chambers of the Government House, Enugu, Ugwuanyi who described them as “our ambassadors and the very best we have,” thanked God Almighty for their successful and outstanding service year.


The governor applauded them for returning home with the prestigious Presidential awards, saying: “Since you have done our dear state this great honour, our prayer is that more honours will come your ways.”

Ugwuanyi also thanked President Buhari “for considering our brothers and sisters worthy of this outstanding award.”

He equally commended the NYSC in the state for the sterling performance of the awardees and went further to announce a donation of N10m to the agency, and a cash reward to the six award recipients in appreciation of their patriotic zeal and dedication to service.

In his brief remark, the Enugu State NYSC Coordinator, Mr. Sam Ujogu, expressed gratitude to Ugwuanyi for granting them audience, stressing, “it is a living testimony that you have been very passionate about the NYSC scheme in Enugu State.”

Ujogu disclosed that the governor has demonstrated his administration’s support to NYSC scheme in the state, in so many ways, especially the construction of the perimeter fence of the camp, which he said, has improved the security of the federal government facility during camping activities.

The six awardees from Enugu State are Jude Ogbodo Ogene (Isi-Uzo LGA); Victor Chidiebere Ezebuilo (Ezeagu LGA); Jane Akudinanwa Egbo (Enugu South LGA); Dr. Victor Sunday Eze (Nsukka); Cynthia Odinaka Ezeiloh (Awgu LGA) and Boniface Tochukwu Obiekwe (Ezeagu LGA).


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet