Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Oyo sets up committee on collapsed bridges, failing public structures


Oyo State Government yesterday inaugurated a committee to urgently take inventory of collapsed bridges and failing public structures, otherwise called “State Hydraulic Structures,” for immediate intervention.

The committee members, consisting of eight engineers drawn from all zones of the state, include Aderoju A.A. (the team leader), Fadare O. F. (Ibadan-Iseyin zone), Ogunkoya O. O. (Saki-Oke-Ogun zone) and Ola B. O. (Ogbomoso-Oyo zone).Others are Salako A. O. (Ibadan-Ibarapa zone), Akinrinola M. O. (Ogbomoso-Oyo zone), Aleilo T.D. (Ibadan-Ibarapa zone) and Aremu K.O. (Ibadan-Ibarapa zone.)

The team, which was inaugurated by the Commissioner for Works and Transport, Prof. Raphael Afonja, on behalf of the state government, said that the committee members are expected to take inventory of state hydraulics structures and bridges in their respective zones and make necessary recommendations for government intervention on structures in need of such.

“The team, whose members are drawn from various zones in the state, is to make quarterly submission of the inventory taken, which comprises of the present state of the structure with recommendations of the necessary intervention by the government. The situation report of any structure requiring swift response should, however, not be delayed till the end of the quarterly submission from them.
“We need to be proactive and not reactive. There have been situations of communities being cut off from the rest of the state as a result of bridge collapse or bad roads, and we want to prevent that from continuing,” he said.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet