Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Saraki names Ndume chairman senate committee on INEC


Senate President, Bukola Saraki Thursday named former senate leader, Ali Ndume as the new chairman of the Senate Committee on Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Saraki, who presided over plenary made the announcement few minutes after lawmakers concluded their debate on the 2017 budget.

It would be recalled that Ndume’s new position as chairman of INEC came sixteen days after he was removed by All Progressives Congress (APC), Caucus as leader of the Senate.


There was also a minor reshuffling, while new Senators who were recently sworn-in, clinched committee chairmanship positions.

Senator Magnus Abe (APC, Rivers South), who Rivers rerun election, was named to head a new Senate Committee on Federal Roads Maintenance Agency (FERMA).

Another Senator from Rivers State, Senator George Sekibo was named as chairman of the Senate committee on Interior. The committee has been without a head since the exit of its former chairman, Senator Olaka Nwogu, also from Rivers State.

Senator Atai Idoko who was sworn-in towards the end of 2016 and represents Kogi East in the Senate, was named to head a new committee on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Senator Abubakar Kyari, who hitherto, chaired the Senate committee on INEC, was named by Senate President to head the Defence committee. The leader of the Senate, Senator Ahmed Lawan, until his appointment, headed the Defence committee.

With the announcement of new committee heads, the total number of committee chairmen now stands at 68, from its earlier 66.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

1 Comment