Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Tribunal sacks Delta PDP reps member, upholds Ogor, Afe elections


It was jubilation galore as the Election Petition Tribunal Panel sitting in Asaba on Friday, upheld the petition of Hon. Halims Agoda of the All Progressives Congress (APC), thereby ending the stay of Hon. Benson Igbakpa of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the member representing Ethiope Federal Constituency at the National Assembly.

Agoda had approached the Tribunal complaining of gross irregularities, urging the Tribunal presided over by Justice A.M. Abubakar to cancel the election or declare him the winner, having scored the highest number of valid votes cast.

The Tribunal, after listening to the issues raised by Agoda who contested the February 23, 2019 National Assembly, declared him as the winner and directed the Independent National Election Commission (INEC) to issue him with a certificate of return.

Similarly, Justice E.I Ngene dismissed the petition brought by Mr. Joel Thomas Onovwakpor of APC against Leo Ogor of PDP for lack of merit.

Also, Monday Igbuya of the APC suffered the same fate as his petition against the current member representing Okpe/Uvwie, and Sapele federal constituency, Efe Afe of PDP was dismissed by Justice Ngene, who said the petitioner could not prove his case.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet