Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Makarfi, Ladoja seek support for PDP’s victory in future elections


Ahmed Makarfi

• Genuine reconciliation necessary to win Ekiti, says Olujimi

The National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Ahmed Makarfi, and ex-governor of Oyo State, Rashidi Ladoja, have urged members to ensure the party’s victory in future elections.

They spoke at a unity luncheon organised by the party in Osogbo, Osun State to interact with returning members of the party.Both leaders urged the people to leverage on the party’s recent gains to return the party to power in the southwest.

Makarfi led leaders of the party across the southwest to the luncheon, where they agreed to work in harmony to ensure the party’s success in the 2019 general elections.


Ladoja said he was happy to return to the PDP, but reminded members of the enormous task ahead to ensure victory for the party, which once controlled the entire southwest.According to them, the bad governance by the All Progressives Congress (APC) was enough for the PDP to wrest power from it.

They urged the members to ensure victory for the party in the governorship elections in Osun and Ekiti states next year.Meanwhile, the Senate Deputy Minority Whip, Biodun Olujimi, has explained why the PDP may not win next year’s governorship poll in Ekiti State.

The senator, representing Ekiti South, stated this in an interview yesterday in her hometown, Omuo-Ekiti.According to her, it may be difficult for the party to win, unless a genuine reconciliation is carried out among the party members.

She stressed that she would not be intimidated by the adoption of Deputy Governor Kolapo Olusola as the party’s choice in the state, adding that she would participate in the primaries to determine the standard-bearer.

Those who attended the luncheon in Osogbo were the southwest zonal coordinator, Eddy Olafeso, former Minister of State for Defence, Erelu Olusola Obada, former Minister of PoIice Affairs, Jelili Adesiyan, Ebenezer Babatope and Shuaib Oyedokun.

Others were Senators Olu Alabi, Kofoworola Bucknor-Akerele, Ademola Adeleke, Fatai Akinbade, ex-Osun State Deputy Governor, Iyiola Omisore, Lere Oyewumi and Osun State Caretaker Committee Chairman, Sarafadeen Ishola.

In this article:
Ahmed MakarfiPDP
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet