The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Cannes Lions Overhauls Award Categories For 2016


cannes_lionsTO reflect the digital changes in the industry, the Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity has announced that this year’s awards will see the Press Lions become the Print and Publishing Lions and Digital Craft split from the Cyber and Mobile Lions.

The addition of the Press Lions is considered to be a milestone in Cannes Lions’ history, being the second award to be added to the competition.

“This is an award that’s been with us since 1992. By renaming it the Print and Publishing Lions, we are evolving the category, just as the print and publishing world itself is evolving, to recognise other forms of publishing, along with best uses of press and interactive press”, Director of Awards, Lions Festivals, Simon Cook, revealed recently.


Commenting on the splitting out of Digital Craft, Chairperson, Lions Festivals, Terry Savage, said: “The Cyber and Mobile Lions juries have told us that with more and more UX and Craft focused entries, it is necessary to have experts in this field sitting on the jury. We’ve chosen to split it out so that this specialist area can have its own dedicated jury, which will also make the hugely labour intensive Cyber Lions judging much more manageable going forward.”

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet