Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Akwa United unveil two coaches, 15 new players for 2019/2020 NPFL season 


Akwa United

Two-time Aiteo Cup champions, Akwa United have officially unveiled her new head coach John Obuh, and his assistant, Duke Udi, as the club prepares for the upcoming 2019/2020 NPFL season scheduled to kick-off on November 3.

At a colourful unveiling ceremony at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo, the Promise Keepers also presented 15 newly signed players to the media community, fans and supporters of the club.

The vastly experienced John Obuh featured for many top clubs including Abiola Babes, Udoji United, Julius Berger, Sharks FC, Enugu Rangers, and Enyimba as a player. The Abia State-born coach started his coaching career in 1994/1995 season as a coach-player with Enyimba of Aba. He has also worked with the National Under-17 team- the Golden Eaglets and the National Under-20 team- the Flying Eagles between 2008-2013. 


Obuh has CAF B coaching license, English FA International coaching license, and German Football A license. His last assignment in the NPFL was with Kwara United in 2018 after helping the team to gain promotion from the NNL.

The tactician, who has signed a one-year contract with Akwa United, has set a target of winning the NPFL title with the Uyo-based side.

Also joining Akwa United’s technical crew for the new season is former Super Eagles, Grasshoppers of Switzerland and Akwa United midfielder, Duke Udi, as the Deputy Head Coach.

Udi previously worked as a coach with Giwa FC, Enugu Rangers, Sunshine Stars amongst others. He has agreed on a one-year deal with the Promise Keepers.

In the playing department, Akwa United have acquired 15 new experienced players for the next season, including three goalkeepers, four defenders, four midfielders and four forwards. 

The player’s goalkeepers are Itodo Akor (El-Kanemi), Bassey Akpan (Sunshine Stars) and Adewale Adeyinka (Gombe Utd).

The newly signed defenders are Ekemini Ukoebe (Lori FC), Sampson Gbadebo (Rivers United), Ali Chiwendu (Yobe Stars) and David Philip (Go Round), while the midfielders include Samuel Mathias (Lobi Stars), Dare Ojo (Lobi Stars), Maurice Chukwu (Go Round) and Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (ES Setif). 

The new forwards recruited by Akwa United are Christian Ekong (Delta Force), Michael Ohanu (MFM), Ubong Friday (Lori FC) and Akarandut Orok.

In all, the club has registered 35 players for the 2019/2020 football league season.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet