The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Babangida returns as Kano Pillars’ boss


Kano Pillars Football Club.

Kano Pillars Football Club.

Kano State Governor, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, yesterday approved the appointment of Muhammad Tukur Babangida as the chairman of a new management committee for the 2014 Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) champions with immediate effect.

A statement signed by the Director General, Media and Communications to the Governor, Salihu Tanko Yakasai, confirmed that Babangida is returning to the club after the dissolution of the previous board with the mandate to take the club back to the summit of Nigerian football.

Other members of the board are Prof. Musa Garba Yakasai, Faruk Sani Haladu, Tijjani Sale Minjibir, Sani Lawan, Murtala Alasan Zainawa and Yahaya Idris (Minister).

The statement directed the former management to immediately handover all public properties, including finances under it, to the new management.
Babangida, a former secretary of the Kano Football Association, takes over from Kabiru Baita, whose board was dissolved yesterday.

During his last spell in charge of Pillars, the club won the Nigeria league for the first time in 2008 and reached the semifinals of the 2009 CAF Champions League.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet