The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Infantino, FIFA bigwigs arrive in Lagos as NFF/Aiteo Football Awards holds today


FIFA President Gianni Infantino. / AFP PHOTO / RONALDO SCHEMIDT

An array of prominent global figures, including FIFA President, Gianni Infantino and CAF President Ahmad, political chieftains, football stars, renowned administrators past and present, captains of industry, legends of the Nigeria game and oaks of the entertainment industry are now confirmed for the inaugural edition of the AITEO/NFF Football Awards holding at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos today.
FIFA and CAF sources confirmed to yesterday that Infantino and Ahmad will arrive in Nigeria today and would be live at the event venue alongside presidents of about 20 member associations of FIFA.

Nigeria Football Federation’s (NFF) First Vice President and Chairman of the Organizing Committee, Seyi Akinwunmi told that broadcast partners, SuperSport and Africa Independent Television (AIT) will relay the programme live as from 7.00 p.m.

“SuperSport and AIT will broadcast the Awards ceremony live, starting from 7.00 p.m., and it will last for exactly 90 minutes – the period of a football match.”
Governor Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State is expected alongside a number of his cabinet members, with AITEO Vice President/CEO, Francis Peters and top shots of the sponsor company also set to add glamour to the big event.
The Youth and Sports Minister, Solomon Dalung is outside the country and will be unable to attend, but the Permanent Secretary in the ministry, Mr. Olusade Adesola will attend the ceremony.
It is the first time that the nation’s football –governing body is organizing an awards ceremony to reward and inspire the major actors and actresses in the Nigerian football space.
Gongs will be presented to winners in Player of the Year (men), Player of the Year (women), Coach of the Year (men), Coach of the Year (women), Young Player of the Year (men), Young Player of the Year (women), Team of the Season, Fairplay Award, Goal of the Season, Fans of the Season, NFF Development Award and Platinum Award categories. Also, there will be special recognition of a ‘Legends Eleven,’ a squad of outstanding former Nigerian international players.
The awards ceremony will also be attended by a large selection of Nigeria football legends, including former captains Christian Chukwu, Olusegun Odegbami, Daniel Amokachi, Mutiu Adepoju, Uche Okechukwu, Garba Lawal, Austin Jay Jay Okocha, Nwankwo Kanu and Joseph Yobo.

Nominees for each category

(1) Player Of The Year (Men)

Victor Moses
Wilfred Ndidi
Anthony Okpotu
(2) Player Of The Year (Women)

Asisat Oshoala
Charity Reuben
Francisca Ordega
(3) Coach Of The Year (Men)

Kennedy Boboye
Abdu Maikaba
Fidelis Ilechukwu
(4) Coach Of The Year (Women)

Whyte Ogbonna
Edwin Okon
Ann Chiejine
(5) Young Player Of The Year (Men)

Stephen Odey
Nura Mohammed
Ikouwem Udoh
(6) Young Player Of The Year (Women)

Rasheedat Ajibade
Anam Imo
Gift Monday
(7) Team Of The Season

Plateau United
Akwa United
Rivers Angels
Nasarawa Amazons
Ibom Angels
(8) Goal Of The Season

Sikiru Olatunbosun (MFM v Rangers)
Shedrack Asiegbu (Abia Warriors v Plateau United)
Oche Salifu (Remo Stars v El Kanemi)

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet