Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Nominations open for 2018 Nigerian Sports Award


Award Panel member, and Chief Executive, Mastersports International, Mr Mitchel Obi (left), the Executive Director, Unmissable Incentives Limited, Mr. Kayode Idowu, and the Chairman, Nigerian Sports Award Panel, Dr. Kweku Tandoh during the 2018 Edition of the Nigerian Sports Award

Nominations are now open for the 2018 edition of the prestigious Nigerian Sports Award, as entry from the general public for the various award categories started yesterday and runs till October 7.

Speaking at a press conference to herald the commencement of activities for the 2018 edition award, the Chairman of the award panel who is also the Chairman of Lagos State Sports Commission, Dr. Kweku Tandoh explained that 2018 edition of the award promises to me more exciting especially with the performances of Nigerian athletes in their various sports from 2017 till date, and even as we prepare for the World Cup in Russia.

According to Tandoh, there are 21 categories of awards that are open for nominations this year and the list include; Racket Sports Person of the Year (Lawn Tennis, Table Tennis, Badminton, Squash), Team Sports Person of the Year, Coach of the Year, Combat Sports Personality of the Year (Karate, Judo, Taekwondo, Wrestling, Boxing), Wrestler of the Year, Discovery of the Year, Footballer of the Year (Women), Footballer of the Year (Men), Athletics Star of the Year, School Sports Award, Sports Administrator of the Year, Sports Governor of the Year and Para Sports Person of the Year.


He noted that the new categories introduced for the 2018 edition of the award is in line with new development and exemplary performances recorded by athletes in recent competitive games.

Speaking on the nomination process and the mechanics, the Executive Director, Unmissable Incentives Limited, Mr. Kayode Idowu, revealed that the nominations can be done through website and via the various social media platforms including Twitter, Instagram and Facebook in order to drive massive participation from the public.

Idowu explained that the sport lovers and the public have the opportunity to nominate via Twitter using the hashtag for each category.

For example, to nominate your Footballer of the Year Women, individuals should type: #NSA2018(space)#FOYW(space)nameofnominee(space)@ngrsportsaward and tweet it. Other hashtags includes: Coach of the Year (#COTY), Sport Governor of the Year (#SGOTY) and so on.

He said: “We would continue with the trend of allowing nominations via various social media platforms including twitter and Facebook to allow for maximum participation in the nomination process as we have done in previous editions. Participants can also submit their nominations on our website or submit hard copy nomination forms which would be available at the Sport Ministry (State & Federal) and Sports Federations to us.”

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet