The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Oshoala, Oparanozie headlines list of Super Falcons for AWCON 2018


Thomas Dennerby, Head Coach of the Super Falcons, has released a list of 21 players that will represent Nigeria at the Africa Women’s Cup of Nations in Ghana.

With the championship set to begin on Saturday, September 17, Dennerby dropped two players from the list o 23 players that he took to the camp in Abidjan. The Swede coach dropped Ogonna Chukwudi of Krstianstand DFF, Sweden and Ugochi Emenayo of Nasarawa Amazons.

The Super Falcons are placed alongside South Africa, Zambia and Kenya in Group B of the competition. The eight-time AWCON champions will look to the star power of three-time Africa Women’s player of the year, Asisat Oshoala. Weeks after winning her second Chinese Women’s Super League with Dalian Quanjian, Oshoala will look to combine with Desire Oparanozie of En Avant Guingamp to power the Falcons to a ninth title on the continent.

Falconets star Rasheedat Ajibade also made the final cut and could get the opportunity further impress in the senior team after her remarkable performance in the WAFU tournament in February where she scored a hat-trick for Nigeria to clinch a semi-final spot.

Dennerby’s team will depart for Ghana on Wednesday, 14th November from Sol Beni, Abidjan where they are presently at for an eight–day final camping.

Hosts Ghana, Algeria, Mali and Cameroon will battle things out in Group A in Accra.

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi (Rivers Angels); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels)

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels); Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC, Cyprus); Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China); Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum AIF, Sweden)

Midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna UTD, Sweden); Rita Chikwelu (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Halimat Ayinde (Asarum AIF, Sweden)

Forwards: Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons); Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo Queens); Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian, China); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Chinwendu Ihezuo (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan)

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet