The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Quadri, Serena, Holmes for Third MP Tiger Tennis Championship



Oyinlomo Quadri, Serena Teluwo, Reya Holmes and Oiza Yakubu will lead the roll call of national junior players as the Third MP Tiger Tennis Championship holds from February 26 to March 3 at the National Stadium, Lagos.

The tournament, among other things, is serving as warm up for Nigerian players for the West and Central African Junior Circuit scheduled for Lome, Togo in March.MP Tiger Tennis boss, Paul Moses stated that the tournament, sanctioned by the Nigeria Tennis Federation, would attract about 80 players who will compete in four boys and girls categories namely Under 10, Under 12, Under 14 and Under 16.

Moses, a UK Professional Tennis Registry-certified coach, said the tournament was to hold in January, but was delayed so as to keep Nigerian players in shape for the tournament in Togo, noting that it will help Nigeria continue its dominance of junior tennis in the West and Central Africa region.

Quadri missed the last edition of the tournament, but it was in the inaugural edition that threw her to limelight as she went ahead to win a number of tournaments in West Africa, which prompted the ITF to award her a scholarship to the High Performance Centre, in Casablanca, Morocco.

The quartet of Teluwo, Holmes, Yakubu and Iye Onoja are also in line to represent Nigeria in Lome. While her teammates are training at home, Teluwo is currently perfecting her skills in the U.S. and she is scheduled to return to Nigeria this weekend.

U.S.-based duo of Marylove Edwards and Angel McLeod alongside Gabriel Inyang, Mathew Abamu, Venus Ubiebi and Toyin Asogba are some of the other national players that have featured in the tournament.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet