Saturday, 9th December 2023

Mr Macaroni, Nengi, Erica, Aisha Yesufu, Airopay make Gage awards 2021 nomination

By Adaku Onyenucheya
22 February 2021   |   3:52 am
Mr Macaroni, Lasisi Elenu, Sydney Talker, MC Lively, and 2019 winner, Taaooma have been nominated for the Online Comedian of the Year for the 2021 GAGE Awards.

Aisha Yesufu

Mr Macaroni, Lasisi Elenu, Sydney Talker, MC Lively, and 2019 winner, Taaooma have been nominated for the Online Comedian of the Year for the 2021 GAGE Awards.

Also, Aisha Yesufu, Tomike Adeoye, Erica Nlewedim, Nengi Hampson and Pamilerin have made the Influencer of the year category nominees, while Airopay, WhotAfrica, Zoom, TikTok, and Clubhouse made the Breakout App of the Year category nominees.

The GAGE Awards 2021 finally opened its portal for voting of digital practitioners who have emerged from the 20 categories after two long months of intense nominations. The final lists of nominees in the various categories have been released. They are:

Nominees for the Banking App of the Year are VBANK, GTBANK, Zenith Bank, Access Bank and Alat by WEMA BANK, while the Data Service Provider of the Year nominee includes; MTN, Airtel, Globacom, Swift Networks and 9Mobile.

Other category nominees are Entrepreneur of the Year; Charles Oyakhilome(CEO, Airopay), Shola Akinlade and Ezra Olubi(Founder, Paystack), Tope Awotona(CEO, Calendly), Babs Ogundeyi (CEO, Kuda Bank and Chijioke Dozie, CEO, OneFi and Carbon).

Online News Platform of the year has AriseTvOnline, ChannelsTv Online, Opera News, Punch Online, BBC Pidgin. Online Film/video documentary of the Year nominees include; Bayi by Dianne Russet, Fishbone by Anakle Films, CNN Documentary on EndSars, the Critics Company.

The nominees for Online Campaign of the Year are *444# USSD campaign by Airtel, #ShotOnOppo by Oppo, #WearItForMe campaign by MTN and Dettol Hand Wash Challenge, while Nominees for Website of the year include;,,,, and

Nominees for Content Creator of the Year (platform) of the year are; NdaniTv, RedTv, Accelerate Tv, NetFlix and PulseTv. The nominees for Web series of the Year include; Shuga Naija, Skinny Girl in Transit, The Mens Club, Therapy and Call to bar.

Nominees for Blog of the Year are; Nairaland, Linda Ikeji, Bella Naija, NaijaLoaded and Nairametrics, while the nominees for the Best Digital Financial Platform include; Paystack, Flutterwave, Paga, Opay and Palmcredit.

Nominees for App of the Year are; TikTok, Microsoft teams, Zoom, Google Meet and Netflix. The Nominees for Podcast of the Year include; Pod Save Africa, Letter to boys, I said what I said, From Lagos with Love and The Irregular show.

Announcing the commencement of voting, the Convener of the GAGE Awards, Mr Johnson Anorh, disclosed that it wasn’t an easy task pruning down over 15,000 nominations as Nigerians made their choice on who best served them in the outgoing year using the digital platforms. The numbers have been overwhelming as in less than 24 hours, we have had over 1.4Million website visits.

Anorh explained that the GAGE Award public voting is only restricted to five categories, they are; Online Comedian of the Year, Banking App of the Year, Digital Artiste of the Year, Breakout App of the Year and Data Service Provider of the Year.

He said the Online Influencer of the Year category has been divided into the voters choice, that is, the audience select their winner and the GAGE Academy choice, which would be determined by the GAGE Academy.

He said winners of the other 15 categories such as Website of the Year, Best Digital Financial Platform among others will also be judged by the GAGE academy based on pre-defined measuring indicators that are beyond the reach or knowledge of the generality of the public.

Anorh said the voting will be open till March 15 when the winners emerge.